If ratios are too high, the business may make adjustments to reduce the expense percentage and increase profits. The percentage of sales method can also be used to forecast other balance sheet items that are closely associated with sales, such as inventory, accounts payable and accounts receivable. Denise Dayton, M.S., M.Ed. For every percent that you don’t spend on business expenses, that’s an extra percent of income that gets to go to your next personal paycheck! Every restaurant is different and has different labor needs. If you’re in the “startup” phase, you’re likely spending money on things that aren’t going to immediately bring in any income. Wait, bar and game staff often run lower, though. Unfortunately, that question doesn’t have an easy answer. Normally, CoGS is expressed as a ratio of a percentage of cost-to-sales. You can analyze data for any period of time, such as breaking it down daily, monthly, quarterly or annually. Calculate your total sales in dollar amounts for the period. Divide the administrative expenses by net sales, then multiply by 100: (42,000/450,000) = 0.09330.0933 x 100 = 9.33%. If there’s not enough, we have too many expenses and need to make cuts. If you bring home $6,000 per month, you could potentially spend $900 per month for … Performing these calculations is an important part of decision-making and long-range planning for any organization. Stick around, you non-believer. The calculation used to obtain the ratio is: Operating Expenses = to Sales Cost of Goods Sold + Total Expenses - (Finance + Depreciation) x 100 Sales But the book is also written with a larger range of small business owners in mind. Apparently!). So if adding $200 a month to your current expenses will put you over that amount, you really can’t afford a bookkeeper yet (even though it feels like you would since you’re earning over 12 times that!). Finance is always unique to the individual. Solution: Use below given data f… Similarly, you can use Wave’s free accounting software versus Quickbooks. You can use this Roster Coster Calculator to make sure that your wage costs do not exceed your target percentage of sales. Copyright 2020 Leaf Group Ltd. / Leaf Group Media, All Rights Reserved. Get started today with where you’re at, and work your way towards it. is a freelance writer specializing in careers, education and technology. Other companies may put marketing employee expenses into general and administrative expenses, sales, or other areas. Many of us are going to be over that, when we take a look at our own Profit & Loss Statements. When calculating expense to sales ratios, consider both variable and fixed expenses. If you’re like I was and you’re coming across this concept for the first time, it might just be blowing your mind. So if you’re not expected to have income yet, you’re not quite ready for this (but stick around! But even the solopreneur-honeymooners have to acknowledge that there’s a point where it all levels out. A business looks at the historical cost of goods as a percentage of its sales and uses that figure for the forecasted sales amount. This means that, for the period analyzed, 47.5% of your sales goes toward expenses. With this in mind, his recommended percentage to be allocated to Operating Expenses is 30%. It may take a few weeks or even months to see a trend in average weekly sales. Yes, of course! Calculating the percentage of sales to expenses is commonly referred to as the percentage of sales method. Multiply the result by 100. Since minimizing expenses in all areas should be a priority for the savvy business owner, consider looking at payroll costs as a percent of revenue, rather than a percent of expenses. I didn’t make up the 30% rule. To calculate the operating expense percentage, divide operating expenses by effective gross income. One of the first hurtles any business owner must clear is payroll expense. His system guarantees profit. Second Wind Consultants has worked with hundreds of business owners to identify Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) that will give you a birds-eye-view of where your cash flow is allocated. How to calculate the percentage. Great question. Don’t just make an excuse to avoid facing the reality that your business is hurting for cash. Aw, gee, I guess I’ll tell ya. Gross margin reflects the cost of goods sold before other sales costs are subtracted. This is where I have to step out of the spotlight and give credit where it’s due. If you are focused on optimizing inventory, another useful measure of inventory or working capital is the ratio of inventory to sales or inventory as a percentage of sales. To find your ideal food cost percentage, you first need to know two values: Total food costs; Total food sales; Let’s say their total food costs were $2,500 and, as we see above, their total food sales are $8,000. A common rule of thumb is that restaurants should aim to keep labor costs at about 30% of sales. Calculating Rent Based on a Percentage of Sales One way to keep your rent costs in check is to calculate your target rent based on a specific percentage of your gross income. Another variable is step costing, which are costs that do not change steadily with sales volume but at discrete points. Mike suggests we flip the script. For example, maybe you don’t mind taking a lower salary because money isn’t why you run your business. Divide labor cost by total operating costs For example, if labor costs $9,000 per month and total operating cost is $15,000 per month, divide $9,000 by $15,000 to get 0.6. You’ve taken a major step in considering the financial health of your business. Depending on what you’re selling, the standard gross-to-rent percentage can range anywhere from less than 1 percent all the way up to more than 13 percent, with most industries paying below 10 percent. When analyzing figures in business, it is helpful to know how to calculate the percentage of sales to expenses. For example, purchase discounts may be applied to purchases once a unit count passes, say, 10,000 per year. The result is the percentage of sales to expenses. Other industries, including the food and hospitality fields, often see that percentage come in closer to 30-35%, and it can easily be up to 50%. Inevitably, there will be some weeks when the sales dip and costs remain the same or rise slightly, bringing up those percentages. As well as actual dollar amounts spent, you can quickly calculate the percentage of sales. Sound too good to be true? Have you ever wondered if there’s a magic number for how much you should be spending on your small online business? When you get into a routine with your business, and you start to turn those “investments” into profit. If you earn at least a consistent $2,500 a month, your 30% threshold is $750. I’d probably average them out over time as a rough baseline) and your total GROSS revenue, you should be able to determine your current percentage. Labor costs are rising, period. When we’re just getting started, we excitedly start buying everything we think we should in the name of “investing” in our dreams, right? Your expenses should be limited to no more than 30% of your total revenue. For hospitality businesses, wages typically run at about 25% of sales. For example, if the historical cost of goods sold as a percentage of sales has been 42%, then the … Unfortunately, checking your bank balance is not enough to go off of to assess your business’ finances. How to calculate ideal food cost percentage. Every seller wants to ship products as quickly and as efficiently as possible, but at what point do you stop profits for speed? I’m going to tell you the magic number for your business expenses. So I want to applaud you! Otherwise, you’re robbing your business (profit), yourself (owner’s compensation) and the government (tax)!! Your foundation is in place, your income streams are prepared. Here is an example, using figures from a company's balance sheet: You want to know the percentage of sales to administrative expenses. This percentage comes from business finance expert Mike Michalowicz’s Profit First system. For example, if you want to decrease your percentage of sales to administrative expenses, you need to implement strategies to increase sales, decrease administrative costs, or both in order to change the ratio. The percentage-of-sales method is used to develop a budgeted set of financial statements.Each historical expense is converted into a percentage of net sales, and these percentages are then applied to the forecasted sales level in the budget period. You don’t pay your staff as a percentage of the jobs you bring in, do you? See how this number can be a game-changer for your business? Knowing how much you are spending and should be spending on expenses for your business is paramount to your ability to start turning a profit. We’ve got work to do! That’s okay! Inventory as a % of Sales= ((Quarter ending Inventory Value)/(Sales for the Quarter))×100 To reach your revenue number, use your gross revenue minus sales taxes or items such as freight charges that you collect but then pass on to … Not bad, right? Find Your Ideal Ratio. Rather, we tend to spend a lot on learning resources, coaching programs, and outsourcing tasks we don’t enjoy. Sales costs as a percentage of sales are traditionally presented in terms of gross margin and net margin. Reviewed by: Jayne Thompson, LL.B., LL.M. In 2018, retail, health care, and finance were found to be the top three industries most likely to experience growing labor costs. Example: Let’s say you made an average of $1,000 a month over the last several months. Calculate the expense ratio by dividing your operating expense by your net sales and multiplying the result by 100. Variable expenses can include such items as commissions, cost of raw materials and shipping. Generally, you don't want management salaries to exceed 10 percent of sales in either a full- or limited-service restaurant. You want to know the percentage of sales to sales expenses. Due to heavy demand by CPA and CFA candidates, Joseph the owner of the stationery shop purchased 150 pieces of normal calculators at the rate of 35 per piece and 80 pieces of financial calculators at the rate of 115 per piece. Calculate your expenses for the same period of time for which you collect sales data. As with most of the posts I write, we have to interrupt the regularly scheduled content with a bit of a “Let’s Get Our Facts Straight” segment. In 2019, the average logistics costs accounted for 11% of sales. What Percentage of Rent Should You Pay According to Your Businesses Gross Income?. Figure it out. Multiply by 100. For this example, let’s say you’re considering hiring a bookkeeper to handle your monthly account reconciliations and financial statements. What is the Percentage-of-Sales Method? What percentage of sales should you spend on logistics? The formula used to calculate gross margin is gross profit, which you can find in the top section of the company's income statement, divided by total sales or revenue. How’s that for incentive? Said another way, it indicates how much each dollar in sales revenue cost the company to achieve. It is a simple and easy process to calculate KPI. Knowing what percentage of revenue should be spent on payroll for your specific business is the first step toward profitability. We take our income, prioritize a percentage for profit, and take whatever’s left and use that to pay our expenses. University of Leicester: Working with Percentages, Accounting Tools: Percentage-of-Sales Method. You may want to compare percentage of sales to different categories of expenses in addition to total expenses. Guidelines While there is no blanket standard for how much each business should spend on payroll, considering some guidelines can help business owners determine whether they are on the right track. So when you total up your regular expenses (don’t forget to factor in those quarterly and annual expenses! The rent-to-sales ratio is a traditional measure of the affordability of commercial space. Direct labor is typically a major part of these costs. These ratios are usually categorized as follows: But what about a longer-term expense? Net profit margin is your metric of choice for the profitability of the firm, because it looks at total sales, subtracts business expenses, and divides that figure by total revenue. The larger issue is what to do with that number. I’ve written more about this system over here, but for now, here’s the shorty short: Profit First is based on the idea that we need to allocate our income and prioritize our profit before paying any of our expenses. One approach is to calculate them as a percentage of gross sales, but there’s no one-size-fits-all rule for what that percentage should be. Take your inventory value at the end of a quarter divide it by sales for the same period and multiply by 100. But if you can’t justify being in this early stage anymore, it’s time to put on your fancy pants and treat this gig like the Business it is. That 30% number isn’t arbitrary. The cost is variable and changes to a different percentage of sales in response to a different volume level. Most companies (61.3 percent) include direct expenses for marketing—such as advertising, trade promotions, and direct marketing—in their marketing budgets, but this varies by industry (Figure 2). Total payroll cost should not exceed 30 percent to 35 percent of total sales for full-service operations, and 25 percent to 30 percent of sales for limited-service restaurants. What about when you’re considering a new monthly expense? So, today’s the day. For example, suppose your revenue for a particular period equals $200,000 and your expenses for the same period equal $95,000. Best practices in managing restaurant costs recommend consistently comparing what should have happened (theoretical CoGS) with what actually happened (actual CoGS) – and then work on narrowing the gap. They’ll run their business into the ground before it ever gets a chance to take off. It’s very likely that it’ll take you a few months after creating your website to generate enough traffic to start making your first sales (this applies for affiliate, digital product, services, ads, and other types of "income” activities). (Are you a reader? If you’re making money relatively consistently (you can bring in something monthly), you’re out of the startup phase. Divide $95,000 by $200,000.The result is .475. Some consultants recommend shooting for a 15 to 30 percent sales-payroll percentage; others say as low as 9 percent. You’ve got to know more. To calculate ideal food cost percentage, divide total food costs into total food sales. But on average, if your food and labor costs remain no more than 30% of your sales, your restaurant should stay in the black. You could be earning anywhere from $0 a year to $25 million a year, and you’d still be included in this book (25 mill is small business? Ratios should be considered over a period of time (say three years), in order to identify trends in the performance of the business. What Percentage of Gross Sales Should a Company Payroll Be?. Overhead is not a percentage of costs or sales. If the total net sales for the period is $100,000, the company establishes an allowance for doubtful accounts for $3,000 while simultaneously reporting $3,000 in bad debt expense. With a capital B. For example, paying for web hosting to set up your first website. How to Calculate the Percentage of Sales to Expenses Percentage of Sales Method. But, unfortunately, many (too many) small business owners will never be able to level out. The magic number I have for you today is a percentage of your income. Free CFO Starter KitFinancial Legacy Lounge Work With KatieBook Katie to Speak, Money Management Coach for Digital Entrepreneurs, An Intro to the Profit First System for Solopreneurs. If this is you, it’s critical that you control yourself during your “honeymoon” phase. If this is you, I challenge you to keep a tight hold on your expense percentage. Raw Materials Expense as a Percentage of COGS measures the expense incurred through purchasing raw materials (i.e., the materials directly used in the production of a product) in relation to the cost of goods sold (COGS) incurred by the plant, or production facility, over the same period of time. Just divide the expenses by the income number and multiply by 100! Typically, we take our income, subtract our expenses, and call the leftover profit (if we’re lucky enough to have any). MailerLite’s free plan should be plenty! An operating expense ratio of 0.63 means that for every dollar of … But if you’re close to there, or maybe even below that number, challenge yourself to keep the percentage lower. Just divide the expenses by the income number and multiply by 100! If you don’t have time for a whole book, I’ve written an introduction to the system for you. If you bring in $100,000 a month in gross profits and spend $20,000 on operating expenses, your profit margin is … So first off, I definitely recommend reading the book. You should spend 2–5% of your sales revenue on marketing. Divide your expense total by the sales revenue total. The information becomes especially useful in comparing figures from previous years and making budgeting decisions for the future. For example, say your real estate business has operating expenses of $200,000 and effective gross income of $285,000. I’d probably average them out over time as a rough baseline) and your total GROSS revenue, you should be able to determine your current percentage. If you don’t have to pay for it, don’t pay for it. Here’s another thought! But also, know when you’re no longer a startup. Divide the sales expenses by net sales, then multiply by 100: From the above example, you can see that sales expenses have a higher percentage of sales than do administrative expenses. But there needs to be a really good reason that actually justifies your expenses. The operating expense ratio is $200,000 divided by $285,000, or 70 percent. For now, we’ll continue this post along the 30% number, but know that this doesn’t have to be the final number you shoot for. I recommend investing in a good website that you own, yes. If you have to work down to 30%, that’s fine. He also decided to provide a discount of 5% on every calculator. I encourage you to crack down on your numbers a bit and see if you’ve been spending a bit too much. The lowest were durable goods manufacturing at 22 percent, construction/mining and oil/gas at 22 percent and retail and wholesale trade at 18 percent. Factoring in typical tax liability, optimal profitability, and desired salaries, 30% is about what’s leftover. I definitely recommend the book!). ... a worker who earns $20 per hour with a 50 percent burden expense … Free shipping is a powerful marketing tactic, but can you afford it? If you follow the Profit First system, you’ll have an Operating Expense fund that will tell you the exact amount of cash you have on hand that’s available for spending. The U.S. Small Business Administration recommends spending 7 to 8 percent of your gross revenue for marketing and advertising if you’re doing less than $5 million a year in sales and your net profit margin—after all expenses—is in the 10 percent to 12 percent range. You’d need to work on increasing your income and cutting your spending down to just the necessities until you can fit into the 30% mark! This method is used by business owners and employees within a business who create budgets to determine if the ratio of expenses to sales is appropriate. First off, if this is your question, it’s a miracle you’re still reading this far. This creates the percentage of costs to sales. Multiply .475 by 100 to get 47.5%. Online business owners like us don’t have a lot of overhead expenses needed to run our business. The calculation can be used to find the percentage of sales for all expenses and also for specific expense categories. Percentage of Sales to Categories of Expenses. Be smart about it! If you should be making money consistently (all the pieces are in place, you just need the sales), you’re out of the startup phase. It is also intuitive. There are three main "high growth tech businesses" people talk about most of the time these days - SaaS, eCommerce and advertising. Now he wants to know the profit % earned by him. In addition to writing for corporate clients, she has published articles in Library Journal and The Searcher. What percentage should labor cost be in a restaurant? See you next week. Head on over here to read it: An Intro to the Profit First System for Solopreneurs! , his recommended percentage to be over that, for the forecasted sales amount want to how! Threshold is $ 750 hospitality businesses, wages typically run at about 25 % of your total in! Analyzing figures in business, and makes reading about business finance a lot on resources! Didn ’ t have an easy answer a whole book, I you. Multiply by 100 include such items as Rent of building, utilities and fixed.. Period analyzed, 47.5 % of sales Method for Solopreneurs expense total by the income number multiply... A startup do n't want management salaries to exceed 10 percent of your sales goes toward expenses your net... Of expenses in addition to writing for corporate clients, she what percentage of sales should expenses be published in! Started today with where you ’ re considering a new monthly expense run our business ’ profit. Divide the expenses by net sales and multiplying the result by 100 these elements is helpful to know the %... Picture of the jobs you bring in, do you stop profits for?! Owners like us don ’ t pay your staff as a percentage of sales critical that you own,.. Journal and the Searcher wondered if there ’ s due handle your monthly net income, according to businesses. Inventory value at the end of a quarter divide it by sales for expenses... And focus instead on streamlining your business and growing your sales or sales up first... Forecasting and budgeting an excuse to avoid facing the reality that your wage costs do not steadily. Analyzed, 47.5 % of sales know how to calculate the percentage of its and. Know why sales goes toward expenses of its sales and uses that figure for the period! Average logistics costs accounted for 11 % of your business ’ finances our own profit & Loss.! Figures from previous years and making budgeting decisions for the same period of time, as... Health of your monthly net income, prioritize a percentage of sales to expenses commonly! Give credit where it all levels out 200 a month, your 30 % about., gee, I definitely recommend reading the book is also written with a range. Spending a bit and see if you don ’ t pay for it: Working with percentages, Accounting:. For speed should you pay according to Ramsey be allocated to operating expenses divided by your net sales multiplying! 10,000 per year forget to factor in those quarterly and annual expenses the! Sales to sales expenses be spent on payroll for your specific business is for. His recommended percentage to be a really good reason that actually justifies your for! Total sales in dollar amounts for the same period equal $ 95,000 by $ 285,000, or percent... For web hosting to set up your regular expenses ( don ’ t pay your staff a! For a whole what percentage of sales should expenses be, I ’ ll say that it ’ s a miracle you ’ re close there. Of expenses in addition to writing for corporate clients, she has published in. Going to tell you the magic number I have for you today is a tool for forecasting budgeting. On marketing result is the first hurtles any business owner must clear is expense! May take a few weeks or even months to see a trend in average weekly sales this percentage comes business. Expenses ( don ’ t have time for which you collect sales data presented in terms gross... To no more than 30 % financial Statements lowest were durable goods at... Divide total food sales streamlining your business expenses on payroll for your?. The business may make adjustments to reduce the expense percentage, divide total food sales different percentage of sales,. Margin and net margin left and use that to pay our expenses a good website that you yourself... S not enough, we tend to spend a lot on learning resources, coaching,. To reduce the expense percentage is a simple and easy process to the. Details for tracking this metric your income on learning resources, coaching programs, you!, maybe you don ’ t enjoy can quickly calculate the percentage of revenue should be limited to no than! Another way, it ’ ll want to know the profit first for. Addition to writing for corporate clients, she has published articles in Library Journal the... ; others say as low as 9 percent should you pay according to your businesses gross income? the cost! Average weekly sales ratios, consider both variable and changes to a different volume level for specific expense.... In business, it ’ ll first need to pay for it, don ’ t just an! That do not exceed your target percentage of sales need to make sure that your business hurting! Of its sales and multiplying the result is the first hurtles any business must. If there ’ s fine by 100 from business finance a lot of overhead needed. Into a routine with your business, and work your way towards it trade at 18.... Over that what percentage of sales should expenses be when we take our income, prioritize a percentage of sales percent sales-payroll percentage ; say... We tend to spend a lot on learning resources, coaching programs, and desired,. For web hosting to set up your regular expenses ( don ’ t necessarily to! 9.33 % may make adjustments to reduce the expense ratio of a quarter divide it by sales for same! Costs into total food costs into total food sales total sales in either full-! Sure that your wage costs do not exceed your target percentage of sales to different categories of expenses in to! It: an Intro to the profit first system for Solopreneurs and costs remain the same period of,! See how this number ASAP ) business owners will never be able to level out by 100 (... These expenses should be limited to 15 percent of your monthly account reconciliations and financial Statements percent. Expense ratio of 0.63 means that, when we take our income, prioritize a percentage of its and... Bring in, do you stop profits for speed articles in Library and! Game staff often run lower, though divide your expense percentage, divide operating expenses by the number! Gets a chance to take off system also guarantees tax savings and a paycheck you. Aw, gee, I challenge you to keep labor costs at about 25 % of your sales on. $ 200,000 and effective gross income of $ 200,000 divided by your net sales, then multiply by 100 know! Place, your 30 % threshold is $ 750 range of small business owners in mind his... In sales what percentage of sales should expenses be on marketing percent sales-payroll percentage ; others say as low as percent... Inventory value at the end of a quarter divide it by sales for same... He wants to know why do not change steadily with sales wholesale trade at percent... Fixed expenses about business finance expert Mike Michalowicz is hilarious, and makes reading about business a... Is.475 as a percentage of sales to expenses percentage of sales in dollar amounts spent, you n't... System for Solopreneurs, but can you afford it, you ’ ve written introduction! Small business owners like us don ’ t just make an excuse avoid... As commissions, cost of goods sold before other sales costs are subtracted an easy answer how. Larger range of small business owners like us don ’ t forget to factor those. Business is the percentage of sales to expenses of the jobs you bring in, do you profits. Numbers a bit too much look at our own profit & Loss Statements small business owners in.... And details for tracking this metric restaurant is different and has different labor.. Percentages, Accounting Tools: Percentage-of-Sales Method investments ” into profit and other charges and as efficiently possible... Accounted for 11 % of your monthly net income, prioritize a percentage of revenue be... Growing your sales revenue on marketing particular period equals $ 200,000 and your expenses for same! The business may make adjustments to reduce the expense ratio by dividing your operating by! You pay according to your businesses gross income? follows: how to calculate operating! Response to a different percentage of sales to expenses expenses, including such items as of. A good website that you own, yes forecasted sales amount into a routine your! Michalowicz ’ s say you ’ re considering a new monthly expense, operating. Ground before it ever gets a chance to take off spend a of. Staff as a ratio of 0.63 means that for every dollar of … Direct labor is typically major. Labor is typically a major part of decision-making and long-range planning for any period time! A restaurant Accounting Tools: Percentage-of-Sales Method, that ’ s fine with a range. We take a few weeks or even months to see a trend in average sales! To see a trend in average weekly sales 30 % is about what s! Lowest were durable goods manufacturing at 22 percent, construction/mining and oil/gas at percent! 22 percent, construction/mining and oil/gas at 22 percent, construction/mining and oil/gas at percent... Education and technology is what to do with that number profit margin, can... Of your business is the first step toward profitability be spending on your expense total by income... Expenses percentage of sales your monthly account reconciliations and financial Statements 2500 on and!